The federal minimal wage price that stipulates employers pay staff $7.25 an hour has not been modified since 2009. This price is laid out beneath the federal Truthful Labor Requirements Act (FLSA) and applies to companies across the nation except state legislation requires the next wage.
Whereas the USA minimal wage legislation has not modified, 24 states, in addition to many cities and counties, are elevating their minimal wage orders in 2022.
A lot of the state will increase go into impact on January 1. Nonetheless, a number of states have stipulated that the orders gained’t go into impact till later within the 12 months. In case your state’s wage order takes place later within the 12 months, it will likely be highlighted to remove confusion.
Evaluate the listing under, after which navigate to our state labor legislation information middle to be taught extra about federal, state, and native legal guidelines it’s essential to comply with based mostly in your location and trade.
When you have extra questions on staying compliant beneath state minimal wage legal guidelines, Homebase HR Professional will help. We’ll not solely notify you when labor legal guidelines change in your space but additionally present reside entry to licensed HR specialists who can reply your questions.
2022 minimal wage by state
Arizona’s price will enhance to $12.80 for non-tipped staff based mostly on the Client Worth Index and $9.80 for tipped staff.
The Flagstaff price will enhance to $15.50. Flagstaff metropolis legislation stipulates that you could be solely pay tipped staff a money wage of $3 lower than the minimal wage should you can set up that the worker earned at the least the minimal wage in ideas for all hours labored.
California’s state legislation will elevate the minimal wage price to $14 for small employers with 25 or fewer staff and $15 for big employers. The state of California doesn’t enable employers to pay a decrease price to tipped staff.
There are a number of cities and counties in California which are additionally elevating their charges. Companies in these cities should abide by the legislation that requires the next minimal wage:
- Cupertino: $16.40
- Daly Metropolis: $15.53
- Los Altos: $16.40
- Mountain View: $17.10
- Oakland: $15.06
- Palo Alto: $16.45
- Petaluma: $15.85
- Richmond: $15.54
- San Diego: $15.00
- San Mateo: $16.20
- Santa Clara: $16.40
- Santa Rosa: $15.85
- Sonoma: $16.00 for big employers, $15.00 for small employers
- Sunnyvale: $17.10
Colorado will enhance their price to $12.56, persurant to annual will increase based mostly on the Client Worth Index after additionally rising it on January 1, 2021. The tipped worker price will increase to $9.54. In Denver, the speed will enhance to $15.87 for traditional staff and $11.75 for tipped staff.
Connecticut’s plan to boost its minimal wage to $15 continues with a rise to $14 on July 1, 2022. The tipped price is $6.38, however bartenders have to be paid $8.23 for hours labored.
The minimal wage price in Delaware will enhance to $10.50. The tipped worker price is $2.23, pursuant to Delaware laws.
Word: Pursuant to present Delaware legislation, employers could pay youth staff beneath the age of 18 a price of $0.50 lower than the usual minimal wage price for 90 consecutive calendar days. Nonetheless, a current change to the legislation stipulates that this provision will expire on December 29, 2021.
On September 30, 2022, Florida will enhance its price to $11 for traditional staff and $7.98 for tipped employees. This enhance is a part of the state’s plan to boost the speed to $15 by 2026.
Illinois can also be in the midst of a plan to boost its minimal wage, with the purpose being to boost it to $15 by 2025. The 2022 price for traditional staff will likely be $12 and $7.20 for tipped staff.
Illinois does enable employers to compensate staff beneath the age of 18 a “youth wage,” so long as they work fewer than 650 hours in a calendar 12 months. This price will enhance to $9.25.
Word: Employers will pay new staff over the age of 18 a “coaching wage” for the primary 90 days of employment. That wage is $0.50 decrease than the usual price, bringing it to $11.50 for 2022.
The federal government of Maine stipulates that the state minimal wage will enhance to $12.75 for traditional employees and $6.38 for tipped staff.
Town of Portland will enhance its non-tipped worker price to $13.00, with the tipped worker price rising to $6.50.
The state of Maryland is elevating the minimal wage at completely different charges for big and small employers. Giant employers with 15 or extra employees will likely be answerable for an elevated $12.50 minimal wage, and employers with fewer than 15 employees should pay $12.20. The rise will proceed till it reaches $15 in 2025.
Montgomery County is elevating its minimal wage to $15.00.
The speed for workers in Massachusetts is rising to $14.25 till it lastly reaches $15 per hour in 2023 pursuant to state legislation. Employers with tipped employees will likely be topic to a minimal wage price of $6.15. This price will even enhance in tandem with the usual price.
Minnesota operates beneath a system that dictates minimal wage based mostly on annual receipts for a enterprise, and bases its will increase to replicate inflation changes. Companies with annual receipts of lower than $500,000 will see an elevated minimal wage price of $8.42. If a enterprise’s annual receipts are in extra of $500,000, the speed will enhance to $10.33.
Companies with tipped staff should adhere to the usual price of minimal wage, as Minnesota laws prohibits a decreased price based mostly on earned ideas.
Town of Minneapolis is issuing the next minimal wage enhance. Small companies will likely be topic to a minimal wage of $13.50 on July 1, 2022, whereas bigger companies should pay an elevated price of $15.
Moreover, St. Paul minimal wage price will proceed to rise till it reaches $15 per hour, at which level the will increase will match the adjusted inflation price shifting ahead. Listed below are the 2022 charges based mostly on the scale of enterprise:
- Companies with 5 or fewer staff: $10.75
- Companies with 6 to 100 staff: $12
- Companies with 101-10,000 staff: $13.50
- Companies with over 10,000 staff: $15
The state of Missouri laws is dictating an ordinary minimal wage enhance to $11.15, with a tipped minimal wage enhance to $5.75.
Word: Employers engaged in retail or service companies whose annual gross revenue is lower than $500,000 usually are not required to pay the state minimal wage price. Tipped Staff have to be paid at the least half of the state minimal wage price. Nonetheless, if the tipped worker doesn’t earn the remainder of the minimal wage price by way of ideas, the employer should pay the distinction.
The state of Montana will situation a minimal wage enhance in tandem with the brand new 12 months, bringing the brand new price to $9.20. Montana doesn’t enable companies to pay a lesser minimal wage to tipped staff.
Nevada’s price will enhance to $9.50 on July 1 for companies that supply healthcare, and $10.50 for these that don’t. Nevada doesn’t enable a decreased price for tipped staff.
The New Jersey price for companies with 1-5 staff will enhance to $11.90 and $13 for companies with 6 or extra staff. The minimal wage price for tipped staff, pursuant to New Jersey legislation, will enhance to $5.13.
Pursuant to New Mexico laws, the state minimal wage is rising to $11.50 for traditional staff. Tipped staff are entitled to a price of $2.80. Nonetheless, the Metropolis of Las Cruses opted to retain its personal tipped minimal wage charges, rising it to $ 4.60.
Pursuant to the New York State Minimal Wage Act, minimal wage charges in New York enhance yearly on December 31, 2021, till reaching $15.00 per hour. This 12 months the speed will increase to $13.20 for non-fast-food companies outdoors of New York Metropolis (company fast-food eating places and all companies in NYC are at present topic to a $15 price).
Nassau, Suffolk, and Westchester counties will collectively enhance their charges to $15.
Just like a number of beforehand talked about states, Ohio’s minimal wage laws follows a enterprise receipt bracket. For companies with at the least $342,000 in annual gross receipts, the brand new minimal wage is $9.30. For different companies, the state follows the federal price of $7.25. For companies with minor staff (under the age of 18), the federal price additionally applies.
Oregon legislators are rising the state minimal wage to $13.50 on July 1, 2022. Non-urban counties will see a rise to $12.50, and the Portland Metro space will elevate its price to $14.75.
As Rhode Island strikes towards an eventual $15 minimal wage price, the 2022 price will likely be $12.25, with a tipped price of $3.89.
The brand new South Dakota minimal wage for 2022 will likely be $9.50. The wage will increase on the identical price because the Client Worth Index. Laws dictates that the tipped minimal wage will likely be $4.97.
Vermont’s annual minimal wage enhance will elevate the speed to $12.55, with an adjusted tipped price of $6.28.
Virginia’s path to $12 continues in 2022 with an elevated price of $11. State legislators don’t enable a decreased price for tipped staff.
The Washington minimal wage will enhance to $14.49, with Seattle elevating its price to $17.27 for employers with greater than 500 staff and for employers with fewer than 500 staff that don’t pay for advantages. Town is elevating the speed to $15.75 for employers with 500 or fewer staff that pay ideas and advantages.